Credits of a TV Show

My encounters with US TV Shows started years back if I remember it right 2004.
Until today i never realized apart from the shows I was also in love with the Opening and End Credits of the show.
My Sister pointed it out today “Why don’t you forward it and watch the actual show?” Then it hit me.

My favorite ongoing shows includes Dexter, House MD, Breaking Bad, Boardwalk Empire, Fringe, Supernatural, Body of proof, Lie to me, The Mentalist and The Big Bang Theory. My favorite Shows which were concluded include Prison Break, 24, The Sopranos, Monk, Deadwood, Lost, Two and a Half Men (yeah you heard it right it was over for me the day Charlie Sheen was out of the Show), The Roots, The Wire, Mad Men. Was also a great fan of mini TV Series like The Pacific, Band of Brothers, The Kennedy’s and many NATGEO, BBC, HISTORY, BIOGRAPHY and DISCOVERY mini documentary series. Focusing on Credits which i always found hard to forward…

7. Person Of Interest’s Opening Credits:


This is a new show just 5 episodes old and i love it like crazy. I was just spell-bounded by the PILOT. JJ Abrams and Nolan did some thinking with this one and its turning up so beautifully. The opening credits is unusual. Its not a theme song or a score. Its a couple of lines which gives a jist of the whole show which i find it to be really appealing. The lines go something like this

You are being watched.The government has a secret system.
A machine.It spies on you every hour of every day.
I know because I built it.
I designed the machine
to detect acts of terror,but it sees everything.
Violent crimes
involving ordinary people.
People like you.
Crimes the government
considered irrelevant.
They wouldn’t act
so I decided I would.
But I needed a partner.
Someone with the skills
to intervene.
Hunted by the authorities,we work in secret.
You will never find us.
But victim or perpetrator, if your number’s up, we’ll find you.”

I mean this is simply brilliant…Highly creative,  simple yet conveys things to the fullest.

6. House MD’s Opening Credits:

House MD…where should i start from…..ummmm….Hugh Laurie is fucking amazing. Crazy acting, amzaing performances great writing, great cases and the things that turns me on the most about this show is the Wit and Sarcasm….it’s fearless writing. Never missed a single episode i just hope it keeps on going on and on. About the opening theme song its Teardrop by Massive attack. 🙂

5. Lie to Me’s Opening Credits:

I must say more than the song the visual for the opening credits of the show Lie to Me are more fascinating. I find the whole concept of micro-expressions and deception very very interesting. That’s the reason I was hooked on to the show. Tim Roth is fantastic. And the song Brand New day by Ryan Star is equally impressive. Great Show. 🙂

4. 24’s End Credits:

24 was hyped a lot before it was aired. The concept was a bit hard to digest for me. 24 Episodes and all indicating a day in real time. So 1 season would just be a story of 1 day. And I must say i was surprised by how good the show was. The 8 days of 24 were an absolute treat to watch. This show made me a fan of Kiefer Sutherland :).
The End of credits of 24 was a perfect climax to a as always breathtaking episode.

3.  Prison Break’s Opening Credits:

Well its not actually an Opening Song but yes that’s what its called. Prison Break was one of the most exciting shows I have ever seen, yes even better than 24. There are very few shows that are just simply mind blowing and you can make it out from the PILOT. Prison break’s PILOT was the best I have ever seen. The opening credits get a whole base to let it come on the screen. The few minutes of teaser and last episodes recap also adds to the thrill. Having said that its a pretty fast paced score. I like it. Goes in perfectly with the show.

2. The Big Bang Theory’s Opening Credits:


I just love this show. It’s a great combination of Science, Physics, Geekiness, Nerdity and Comedy.

Every time I hear this song it makes me happy, because it allows me to pretend that The Barenaked Ladies did not break up. Then reality sets back in (le sigh). Geeky and Scientific all in 30 seconds. It’s kinda fun listing to the whole song too. 🙂


1. Dexter’s End Credits

The number 1. Rightly so. One of the best shows on TV. Can’t say enough about how good the show is. I just love this composition by Daniel Licht and orchestrated by Joseph Trapanese.  It just is so…..i give up to describe it in one word. I never turn it down after the show is done the 0.58min end credit is possibly the best ever on a SITCOM.
Most notable is the recurring theme from the end credits, which features artificial harmonics on bowed string instruments (violins, violas and cellos), reminiscent of Bernard Herrmann’s pivotal “black and white”, strings-only score for Alfred Hitchcock’s 1960 film Psycho.


-Ravi Sadrani

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Credits of a TV Show

  1. jedizninja says:

    This blog is a really good undivided. Say thank you for shareing such great low-down out. Ill deff be driving by more frequently so i an observe whats original!

Leave a Reply

